cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cgee
Surveyor

Assignment is automarking and resubmitting

Hi Expert, 

I faced two questions. In fact, I submitted my ticket weeks ago but did not receive any reply from the support team. 

(1) Once the students submitted their assignments, the grade is published automatically. The students are wondering and I need to delete the grade one-by-one. 

(2) Once the students submitted their assignments, a few days later, the system will resubmit the assignment on the behalf of the students and considered as "late submission". 

The following image summarised two items mentioned above. 

Canvas support needed.jpg
Appreciate your help as I am unable to get the answer from the support team. 

Thanks. 

Gee

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Steven_S
Navigator II

I'm not an expert, but these are two separate issues.

1) For assignments and quizzes for which you do not want the grade to be published automatically, use the drop down list on the title of that activity in the grades tab to select "grade posting policy."  Set the policy to manual.  If this applies to everything you can also access a grade posting policy for the entire course from the gear icon.  As submissions come in, you will see crossed out eye icons appear next to the activity title and student name.  The scores will be hidden from students, but not you.  To post the scores use the drop down list next to the activity title to select post > graded.  Be aware that if you ever click post > everyone even the blank boxes will be "posted" and scores will return to posting automatically, and the manual posting policy will become ineffective.  In fact, if you (or any admin setting up your course) did selected post > everyone for an activity at any point previously, the manual posting policy will not work for that activity and every grade will be posted instantly.