cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
alexander_mitch
Explorer III

Badgr Struggles

I'm an admin at a smaller school that's been piloting Canvas this semester. We've been testing out various LTIs, including Badgr. In the last semester, we've had a few situations where Badgr needs to be reinstalled and various settings reset in order to solve what Concentric Sky Troubleshooting describes as "rare" incidents that cause the Badges to break in various ways.

Badgr is a pretty great App, but as a smaller school (with a very small LMS team) I'm getting worried about stability. So!

I'm hoping there are choices we can make in implementing and managing Badgr that will make things more stable.

• We have the LTI installed at the Account level and I wonder if it would be easier to troubleshoot things at the individual course level? If you use Badgr, how do you have it implemented?
  • Are there any common pitfalls you've found that cause Badge links to break, etc? Best practices for this?
  • Any other advice you have around Badges?
Tags (3)
6 Replies
gnordberg
Learner II

Hi  @alexander_mitch , great question.

We're in our first official semester with Canvas and I just got done setting up Badgr for our new student tutorial course so I can weigh in on my experiences.

We have the Badgr LTI enabled at the account level as well but we have it disabled in the course navigation by default. We have Teachers (or admins) enable it on an "as needed" basis to keep the course navigation as clutter free as possible.

The Badgr Support page was super helpful in answering some questions getting started and I even had to reach out to them for an issue I ran into and they got me squared away in no time.

In order to set up and configure Badgr in a course, you have to have a Teacher role, otherwise you may get a message about upgrading to Badgr Pro.