cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Member

Can CANVAS be made inclusive of substitute teachers?

Jump to solution

As a substitute teacher, I feel shut out of whatever activity the students are working on in Canvas, if that is their only assignment. Short of walking behind their backs and peering over their individual Chromebook screens, I have no way of engaging the classroom about the material at hand, which I have otherwise no access to. Furthermore, if a student is having technical difficulties, I would be very unprepared to steer them in the right direction without having similar access to their assignment.

Would appreciate any insights anyone may have on this.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi j.e.riley@comcast.net Welcome to the Canvas Community!

Are you telling us that as a substitute teacher for courses that use Canvas, you do not have teacher  access to your students' Canvas courses? Unbelievable.

Unfortunately, this is not something that neither this Community's members nor Canvas can fix. The school(s) you work for need to enroll you in those courses as a teacher so that you can do your job. Otherwise, I would suggest you simply skip that day's lesson plan and not use Canvas at all.

Unbelievable!

Kelley

PS: for the record, Canvas is not an acronym.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi j.e.riley@comcast.net Welcome to the Canvas Community!

Are you telling us that as a substitute teacher for courses that use Canvas, you do not have teacher  access to your students' Canvas courses? Unbelievable.

Unfortunately, this is not something that neither this Community's members nor Canvas can fix. The school(s) you work for need to enroll you in those courses as a teacher so that you can do your job. Otherwise, I would suggest you simply skip that day's lesson plan and not use Canvas at all.