cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Surveyor II

Can I use VoiceThread in Canvas as a Free-for-Teacher account user?

Jump to solution

I am a Canvas Free-for-Teacher account user. I have a paid VoiceThread account and want to use VoiceThread in Canvas. After some exploration, it seems to me that a free Canvas account user cannot use VoiceThread in Canvas. I am not a techie and this is the first time I try my hands on an LMS. I read Canvas Account Comparisons. In the  Canvas-Enabled External Tool (LTIs) row, it shows that only Roll Call Attendance is available for free account users. But in the Third Party External Apps Management (LTIs), it shows "course level" in the free for teacher column. I do not know what that means. 

My question is "Is there any way that I can use VoiceThread in Canvas"? If it cannot be used by a Free-for-Teacher account user in any way, how much do I need to pay to have a paid Canvas account? I am not an institutional user. I use Canvas for my online learning research project and will probably have at most 50 students. 

Thanks. 

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Stefanie,

Thank you. 

I learned that Free-for-Teacher account users can use VoiceThread in Canvas.

I am not an institution user of VoiceThread. My VoiceThread account is a single instructor account. Therefore, I cannot integrate VoiceThread in Canvas. Instead, I can link or embed it in my course. The downside is that students need a separate VoiceThread username and password in order to participate. 

Hope this information can be of help to others. 

Cheers,

Liuchun 

View solution in original post

7 Replies
Surveyor II

Sorry for the typo error. It should be VoiceThread. 

Stefanie
Community Team
Community Team