Canvas LMS and Skills Tracking Help

leavoj
Community Explorer

Hi everyone,

I am hoping I can get some help on a project in canvas to help record skills assessments. I am a teacher and teach my entire nursing class from beginning to the end. I do not have a lab assistant either.  

Many of our programs at our school do skills checklist.  Whether it is putting in a urinary catheter, to doing a bed bath, doing an oil change in auto, or how to color someone’s hair in cosmetology. 

I am trying to see if anyone has seen some good ways how these skills checklist can be done and recorded in an easy way – without making it labor intensive for both the students and the instructor. 

Keep in mind,  I have over 200 separate skills checklist for nursing!    Some checklist have 10 steps – others may have 30 steps.  These checklist also can become outdated with new editions as the book changes every 2 years or even as best practices change.  Ie COVID!   Granted it should not be much – but it could... 😕  

I was looking at rubrics or outcomes;  but updating 200 rubrics and 200 outcomes and at least 200 assignments (possible 1 for the students to complete as practice and the 1 for the teacher to assess completion) seems a bit much!  Also grading and clicking that many assignments – all I would be doing is grading!    I may be able to chunk some together by chapter – but I am still just thinking the updating logistics when I also have book assignments and test along with these skills!

I do not think I need to record each and every step.  I think that as long as I can provide feedback on the overall skill – i.e. reminding students to follow step 5 infection control or teaching the patient how to clean the area would be good then mark them complete or incomplete.  I can even give good feedback.