cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rpsimon
Lamplighter

Canvas Training for Teacher In-Service?

Hi, I'm starting a new job at a school that has been using Canvas for quite some time.  I'm very new to Canvas (just set up my account a couple of days ago) and just spent over 20 hours completing the courses "Growing With Canvas" and "Be the Hero PSK12."  So although I haven't asked my principal yet, I would imagine that he would want me to provide training at In-Service for teachers before school starts.  Can anyone recommend or share resources for these types of sessions?  I located the Kung Fu Canvas course and I am curious if anyone else anything to share?  Is there some type of refresh course maybe?  Thanks so much.

7 Replies
lph
Learner II

Hi

As a teacher who despises disorganized PD, may I suggest you begin with planning for your audience. If teachers have been using Canvas then it’s important you present something they can take back to the classroom immediately. If teachers haven’t adopted it yet then find a helpful reason for them to use Canvas. Maybe there are efficiency tips, design tips, template ideas, etc. that you can present. This will all depend upon your audience. 

Good luck and let us know. 

Thank you @Layne_Heiny.  I am going to meet with my principal on Tuesday next week, so I think it would be a good idea to mention these things.

kmeeusen
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi rpsimon

You cannot change the fact that you are new to Canvas, and that's okay! Since you are new, you do not want to fall into the trap of presenting on something in which your audience might know well more than you do. So here are my thoughts.

I hope this list is useful.

Kelley

@kmeeusen ‌ this is brilliant!  Also, I think the Commons would be something to share because it seems from doing my research, my school has never even used it before.  Thanks!