cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Member

Does anyone have a great way of allowing students to grade themselves?

I am an art teacher tasked with using Canvas as my method to grade. I like using self-evaluation rubrics and since our district is trying to be as green as possible, I'm attempting to use Canvas to make this happen. But I'm finding it really limiting. Last year, I made rubrics (specific to each project within Canvas) and asked students to turn in their physical work to me and then use Canvas to create a text box. Inside that box they wrote 5 numbers which corresponded to the rubric evaluation. Two problems occurred-- The first--kids just didn't do it. The second--kids didn't bother to read the rubric and gave themselves full points in each category just to get it done.

I want a better solution. I'd love for students to be able to click on a box within the rubric like I do in speedgrader. Has anyone had better luck with something else?

4 Replies
Highlighted
Community Member

laurakgibbs‌ does a lot of self evaluations with quizzes in Canvas. I tagged her, so I am sure she will pop in soon to share how she does self evaluation, alison.winters@ngsd.k12.wi.us‌. Smiley Happy 

Highlighted
Community Member

Thanks for the ping, dhulsey@nmjc.edu‌! Re: self-grading, YES, alison.winters@ngsd.k12.wi.us, that is how ALL the grading happens in my classes; I don't use rubrics, but just checklists, the idea being that students get full credit for completed work (no partial credit), and then that simple checklist-for-completion is the basis for me to give them feedback on the work. I do no grading; instead, as they complete assignments, they "declare" the checklist, get points in the gradebook, and then the feedback from me is the guide for their focus as they move on. I teach writing classes, and so some students spend maybe just one week editing/revising, while others spend two weeks... it's all super-flexible.