Does canvas allow schools to let students type in their own pronouns?

Jump to solution
ndkckbsn
Community Member

I am a student at a Texas university. In my user settings, I am allowed to choose between four personal pronoun options: "None", "She/Her", "He/Him", and "They/Them". I personally feel that these four options do not adequately reflect the diversity of gender identities and pronoun choices that are used today. I know that pronoun options are managed by my institution, and I would like to contact my school about adding an "Other (please specify)" option that would allow students to type in their pronouns if they do not see them already there. However, I am not sure if such functionality is even available on canvas, and I would like to confirm that it is, or beg that it be implemented, before I talk to my institution about it. So, my question is this: Is there a way that schools can allow their students to type in their own pronouns out, instead of the students choosing from an inexhaustive list? And if not, might y'all please add a feature like that?

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution
rmurchshafer
Community Champion

Greetings,

First, I'm speaking as an admin at a University so I don't have detailed insight into everything at Canvas.  But, I can let you know that the way the feature works is that a school can choose to have it turned or not, and a school can add to and edit the list of pronouns that are allowed.  There currently is not a feature which would allow an individual to enter their own pronouns.  At my school we've enabled the feature with the options:

• She/Her
  • He/Him
  • They/Them
  • Ask me my pronouns

That last option doesn't let an individual enter pronouns, but instead simply indicates, "hey, ask me".