Drop lowest quiz from group (each worth different # points), weighted the rest equally by percent?

Jump to solution
geoffrey4444
Community Member

Hi,

I am an instructor in an intro astronomy course. My course has three midterm exams, which I gave as Canvas quizzes (using the old quiz module, not the new quizzes). Each quiz is worth a different number of points. In my course, I drop the lowest of these three quizzes, then average the percentages of the remaining two quizzes to get the final quiz percentage, which counts for 40% of the final grade.

Each quiz has a different number of questions and thus is worth a different number of points.

I have all my quizzes in a single group called quizzes, and I set it to drop the lowest quiz. I checked that it does in fact drop the quiz with the lowest % grade, not the one with the lowest total number of points. However, when it averages the remaining quizzes, it adds up the points from both remaining quizzes and divides by the total points possible on them, instead of adding up the percentages and dividing by 2. This effectively weights the quiz with more questions more heavily, whereas I want to weight the two remaining quizzes equally by percentage.

I read on a similar post that you can force Canvas to weight each quiz equally by putting them in separate groups, but if I do that, I'm not sure how to drop the lowest quiz.

Is there any way I can compute a group grade that is the average of percentages of each item, after dropping the lowest percentage from the group?

I'd be very grateful for any solution you might have!

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution
rmurchshafer
Community Champion

Within an Assignment group the weighting is based on points.  So it's not possible to average two assignments inside of a group when their point values are not the same.