cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Surveyor

Duplicating folder structures

Hi - I'm a canvas newbie here but I have lots of Moodle and Blackboard experience.

I'd very much appreciate any help with the following little problem.

I'm playing about the different ways that we might be able to share 'template courses'

I want to create a fairly blank course that can be duplicated across Faculties that has placeholders for content.

I see that there are a number of ways to do that and I'm digesting lots of content most notably this thread

My question is about the backend file structure though.

As part of these structured courses I want to create a file tree that will house the content - Unit 1, Unit 2 etc. 

I have created the necessary structure in my 'Parent' course but I can't seem to duplicate this automatically no matter what method of copying I use (Copy, Export / import, Blueprint)

Now, importantly these folders are empty and I realise that this could be one issue.  If the folders have content they are copied/syncd.  

To add an extra touch of weirdness though the first time I did try it I somehow managed it.. or did I?  I think I did... but now I'm not sure...

Anyway - lovely to be here
Many thanks

Rich

5 Replies
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi r.layden@bradford.ac.uk

The best tool for providing structure in your courses, and one that works regardless of how the course is reproduced, is to use Modules. I have uploaded a couple screenshots below of the module structure used in a general template we developed.

Once the structure is in place you and/or faculty or course builders can add the appropriate files, document, links, etc needed to complete the course.

Collapsed Module Structure - Modules listed are meant to be weekly, and continue off the screenshot to the total number of weeks in a term

266590_pastedImage_2.png

Module Content Structure - Each weekly module is structured exactly the same.

266603_pastedImage_4.png