cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Surveyor

Google Drive and Sharing/Permissions

Jump to solution

I know how to embed Google docs and videos into Canvas pages, but currently it looks like the only way to do so is to make the Google docs publicly available (or at least, to anyone who has the link). I also know that Canvas allows any user to link their Canvas account with a Google account.

My question is: If all students in a particular class had a Google account linked to their Canvas account, would it be possible to set the privacy settings of the embedded Google Drive content (docs, sheets, videos) such that it would only be visible to students enrolled in the class?  That is, if I'm a student and I'm logged in to my Canvas and linked Google account, I can view the docs in the course as I'd like to, and when I edit a doc those changes are marked with my name... but if I try to email the link to those embedded documents (link to a doc itself, not to the Canvas page in which it's embedded) to a friend of mine who is not in the class, the friend would not be able to view them.

Does anyone know if this is possible? Any chance this might be possible using the Google Classroom API (which I otherwise know nothing about...)

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Navigator

60980756​,

I think the short answer (outside of Google Classroom) is "no", at least not in the combination you're listed, but someone may come up with something I'm not aware of.

Google has a document that explains what can be done with sharing: Change your sharing settings - Drive Help

It contains this chart:

77437_pastedImage_1.png

It's that 3rd row that you have to watch out for. Anyone who can view the document can make a copy and then share the copy with whomever they like.