Gradebook grade display issue

Jump to solution
eliasnoreland
Community Member

It seems to me that Canvas by default displays the student's final course grade based on the assignments submitted, not the overall score. For example, if I have 5 assignments worth 1 point each in a course (graded as Complete/Incomplete), the gradebook will display a Pass grade as soon as the student has submitted an assignment with the status Complete, even if I have set a course grade scheme that demands all 5 assignments be complete to pass the course. Have I messed something up, or is this actually the case? And if so, is there any way I can change that? If I view the course as a student, I can tell the gradebook to NOT calculate the course grade based solely on graded assignments by unchecking the checkbox. But this doesn't affect how the grade is displayed in Instructor view, and it also always goes back to calculating by graded assignments when the student submits next assignment.

Here's what I would like and what I have achieved so far:

1. Assignment group contains 5 assignments (the actual number will be much higher, but for now I'm only testing on a small number of assignments in a dummy course). Each assignment (or to be precise, they are actually self-graded quizzes) contains a number of questions, and the points for each question has been set so that the total score for the assignment is 1 point. So, for example, if the quiz contains 10 questions, each question is worth 0,1 points.

2. The student needs to score 5 points to pass the course. Thus, a course grade scheme has been set where everything above 81% is Pass, while everything below that is Fail.

3. Unless the student has successfully submitted all 5 assignments, the gradebook should always display the grade Fail in both student and instructor view.