cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
principal
Surveyor

Have you experienced a sent message disappearing?

Jump to solution

I sent a message to seven students, with the box "Send individual messages sent."  After clicking send, eventually I noticed that the message was not in my Sent box.  I masqueraded as one of the students, and the student hadn't received my message either.  Has anyone else experienced this?  If so, were you able to retrieve the message?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
principal
Surveyor

Part two of my original post -- I was eventually able to send. Here's the story.  I am an Admin, so I can send an email to anyone without choosing a course from the dropdown box.  The first two times I sent this email, I did not choose a course; I just added seven students to the message (to be sent as individual messages) and sent it.  Both times, the messages did not show up in my Sent mail, and as I mentioned, when I checked a student recipient by masquerading, there was no message.   This was even though Canvas said "Message sent successfully!"  

I decided to try something different the third time.  When Canvas changed Conversations and disabled the ability for students to message anyone in the school they wanted, at the suggestion of a Canvas rep, we created a new course called Homeroom and put all students in it.  When I tried this message the third time, I chose the course Homeroom from the dropdown box.  When I added the names, two of the seven students came up with "No results."  Upon investigation, I found that those two students had not been added to Homeroom.  So I added them to Homeroom, and then I was able to send the message.

The third time, the individual messages showed up in my Sent Mail.  But not only that, suddenly my previous two mailings showed up also!  So now all the students got three identical messages from me!

View solution in original post

6 Replies
awilliams
Surveyor

Hey  @principal