cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
abromile
Community Member

How Do I View the Mean/Average Grade for an Assignment as an Instructor?

Jump to solution

I know that as a student you can see the grade distribution graphs (as long as the teacher has not disabled them) in your grade page for the course. But as an instructor, I can't figure out where to see this. The analytics page does not have it; they only have the median. Where can the instructor see the average grades for individual assignments?

3 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Stefanie
Community Team
Community Team

@abromile , you can access the grade distribution, including the average, for each assignment from the Gradebook. Hover over the heading that appears at the top of the assignment column, and select the arrow dropdown. From there, click on Assignment Details to reveal the display of high-low-average. For more details, please refer to https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-10268-415254998?sr=search&searchId=49ab5c6f-1614-4a38-b0a5-...

View solution in original post

Yay, this is the answer I was looking for, since I am using the new beta gradebook. Wish it were as simple as clicking the three dots... Thanks!

kona
Community Coach
Community Coach

With the switch to the new gradebook, here is the guide that explains how to currently find this information - https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-12875-4152212381 - it's under the "View assignment information heading."

0 Kudos
13 Replies
Stefanie
Community Team
Community Team

@abromile , you can access the grade distribution, including the average, for each assignment from the Gradebook. Hover over the heading that appears at the top of the assignment column, and select the arrow dropdown. From there, click on Assignment Details to reveal the display of high-low-average. For more details, please refer to https://community.canvaslms.com/docs/DOC-10268-415254998?sr=search&searchId=49ab5c6f-1614-4a38-b0a5-...