cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sdunbar1
Community Member

How can I make a file open in a new window?

Jump to solution

As you can probably guess I am new to Canvas.  I just can't seem to find where, when working in a module, I can set a link to open in a new window.  I would like to know how to do this with links and files.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
snufer
Community Advocate
Community Advocate

The the modules page is a File then it can't be opened in a new tab, but the External URL page does have that option:

2016-09-26_10-47-1.png

With that said, I support the use of content pages to display files and using the html to have them open in new windows.  I typically create a files page in my Course Home module.

2016-09-27_11-47-06.png

View solution in original post

6 Replies
ajeffery
Community Member

Did you find the answer to this question? If not, I'm happy to help

don_bryn
Surveyor

When you add a link to a page, assignment, question, or anywhere you use the rich text editor, the only way I know to make it open in a new window is this:

add the the link and make it look the way you want. Then click on html editor. Find the link you just created and look for the target="" property. Add the word 'blank' between the quotation marks and save the page. It will look, like this:  target="blank".

kblack
Community Member

I would like to add a slight correction to Don's good advice, and that is that the target= property that Don mentions should actually be written with an underscore preceding the "blank".  So it should look like this:  target="_blank"  .  Omitting the underscore will now allow it to work properly.  (At least, it didn't when I tried it just now to be sure.)