cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Member

How to make discussions and announcements indicate that I posted them

Jump to solution

Hi there, I'm in my second semester of teaching several online classes with Canvas. I am prepping my fall courses, which were copied from my summer courses. I see that none of my announcements or discussion posts indicate that I posted them. They don't have my name or photo. I noticed this when all my classes were originally copied from D2L for summer, so I reposted everything fresh to correct the problem. I assumed it would all stick after posting the first time. But in my fall courses, I am back to the same problem. Will this continue to happen every semester, in which case I should give up and get used to not being indicated as the poster, or is there something different to be done when copying from semester to semester? Thank you so much for any and all advice!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Community Coach
Community Coach

amanda.mahaffey@colorado.edu, greetings and welcome to the Canvas Community! It is by design that this information is stripped out of Canvas any time you copy the course into a new course. It was done to help teachers who have Instructional Designers build or help to build their course, or for people who want to share content with other people. This way the student isn't confused and wondering who the strange person is who wrote their discussion prompt or announcement.

So yes, this will continue to happen each semester, and no, there isn't a way around it other than recreating the content. 

Kona

View solution in original post

6 Replies
Community Coach
Community Coach