cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
blasej2
Community Member

Is it possible to download Canvas Mail contents?

I would like to download a copy of all of my Canvas Mail messages, but I can't find any way to do this. Is there a way to do this?

6 Replies
chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello  @blasej2  Welcome to the Canvas Community.  Thank you for posting your message.  First, I'll start by saying that there's nothing on the front end of Canvas that I'm aware of that would allow you to download/export all of your messages from the Canvas Inbox.  Second, I'm not a programmer, so this next bit of information I provide is coming directly from a Canvas Support technician who gave me permission to post his feedback here:

From Cason S.

Well, you can definitely run a GET request via the API, however this just returns them in json format. They aren't going to be in a more consumable format like CSV or TXT, and they aren't compiled into a single document. If you had some scripting know-how you might be able  to make a script to generate something like that, but there isn't a pre-built call for that

Since this question is beyond my technical "know how", I am going to share your question with the Canvas Developers‌ group here in the Community in hopes that your question will get some additional exposure.  If you are not yet following this group, please use the link that I have provided, and then click on the "Follow" button at the top right corner of the page.  You may also need to click on the "Actions" menu (also located at the top right corner of that page), and then click on the "Join group" option.

I hope this information is helpful to you, Blase!

swilson34
Community Member

Interesting that you ask that, what sort of reply did you get?

Stephanie

Hello  @swilson34 ...