cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Surveyor

Is there a way to see usage of the Discussion Tool in Teachers' courses?

Is there a way to create a report in the Admin settings regarding the use of the Discussions tool in Canvas?  I am new to this school, new to Canvas, and new to being an admin.  My other option would be to create a short Google Form and ask the teachers about their Discussion tool usage.  Thanks.

7 Replies
Highlighted
Learner II

Hi rpsimon

As far as I know, there is no report function for this.

Seems like a well designed poll would be a much better bet, anyways.  There are so many ways in which discussion can be used, and as many levels of use as there are users. The quatitative results of a standard report would not capture the qualitative nuances.

I have some idea, too many actually, but can I ask why you are looking for this data?

Kelley

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Surveyor

Because I am new to my school and job, I was wondering if I could see the usage without having to ask the teachers.  So it seems like creating the Google Form is the best option at this point.  I don't want to overwhelm teachers, so I want it to be very short and simple.  Here are the questions that I am thinking of asking in a Google Form.  I am curious to learn your opinion:

1) Have you ever used the Discussion Tool in Canvas?

(Multiple Choice)

2) Did you find it to be beneficial?  For instance, did you see that students who are generally not active participants in class did become more engaged?

MC

3) Do you see yourself using the Discussion Tool in the near future?  Why or why not?

kelley.meeusen@cptc.edu‌ I want this to be something positive, so any advice you have will be greatly appreciated.

Highlighted
Learner II

Hi again, rpsimon

I would also consider a frequency question: daily, weekly, once a term kind of thing. Is it a graded discussion, and how they are using it?