cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
shivaji_babar
Community Member

LTI compliant eLearning content.

I am new to LTI. We provide eLearning content and want to understand how we could make the content LTI compliant. I researched a lot but could not find sample or step by step solution for it. We use client side web programming languages to create eLearning content. We have a huge experience in creating SCORM, AICC and xAPI content.

4 Replies
kmeeusen
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @shivaji_babar ‌

There is a great discussion here that could be very helpful to get you started How can I get started building an LTI external application? 

I also found this resource on the interwebs http://acrl.ala.org/techconnect/post/making-a-basic-lti-learning-tools-intoperability-app 

I hope this is helpful,

Kelley

Hi Kelley,

Thank you for the links.

I am looking for answers of these question:

1. Can the eLearning content/courses be LTI compliant? Client side web programming languages are used to create content.

2. Can the content be uploaded to Canvas LMS or hosted on our server and connected to Canvas LMS?

3. Is it must to user server side languages to make app LTI compliant?

Regards,

Shivaji

Hi Shivaji

Here's a short answer to your question.

Basically, LTI Tools are hosted out of the LMS which and are accessible over the Web. The LTI request will be launched from your LMS that sends a HTTP POST request to the LTI tool. So, yes it's usually a web application written in a server-side language that is hosted external and is maintained by the Tool Provider.

Cheers

Moein

chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello there,  @shivaji_babar ...