Migration to New Formula Questions - a suggestion to aid in that

Jump to solution
LarryGormanSLO
Community Member

Hello,

I've used both your Classic and New Formula-style Questions in Canvas.  I'm a finance professor, but like many math, science and engineering professors (and especially in an attempt to minimize cheating), I like to ask 'numerically dynamic' problems in which the numbers change each time the same question is asked.  What Canvas calls:   Formula-Questions.

For most users the New style of Formula Question has two pretty substantial limitations relative to the Classic style.  I think one of the two has an easy fix, which would enhance the New style of Formula Questions substantially.

The first difference is that New-style math variables such as x, y and z MUST be identified in the body of the question via tick marks as:     What is 18 divided by 'x' ?   In the Classic-style, the math variables are identified via square brackets:     What is 18 divided by [x] ?

While it would be GREAT if the New style could also use square brackets,  [x], that's may not be an easy fix.

The second issue is probably a pretty easy fix on the Canvas (programmer) side.   At present the New-style problems do not allow alpha-numeric variable names such as  x1, x2, x3 etc...   For technical subjects many variables are indexed by the time in which they occur.   I.e. the position on the x-axis at times 1, 2, and 3 would typically be 'coded' in any language as x1, x2, and x3.   Doing so in not a problem in the Classic Formula Problems, but it's not allowed in the New Formula Problems.

I'm hoping that some empathetic individual at Instructure/Canvas will realize that:

Canvas is providing ZERO support to migrate Formula Questions from the Classic format to the New format.  Nor are they supporting the Classic format Formula Questions after July 2021 - leaving hundreds of STEM professors out in the cold.