New Quizzes sometimes fails to store an individual student's submission in gradebook

Steuard
Community Explorer

I use the "New Quizzes" interface both for routine "reading questionnaires" and for (timed) online exams. In the past week, I've had multiple students encounter a bug where they do a quiz and submit it, but it seems that the submission is somehow not transmitted back from the New Quizzes engine to Canvas itself. The student gets no warning that there's a problem, and the rest of the class has no issues.

The result is that the Canvas gradebook shows the assignment as "missing" with a zero grade, and the Canvas SpeedGrader interface also says "no submission". As an instructor, I have no reason to think anything is wrong: it's exactly as if the student skipped the assignment. But if I open the quiz itself and go to the Moderate tab, the student's work is right there as "Attempt 1/1" just like everyone else's. And if I click through to view their attempt, I can assign a grade there (either by grading a question that requires manual grading, or I think by adding a "fudge point" and then taking it back) and click "Update": at that point, the score is transmitted back to Canvas and everything seems normal (except that the assignment may be marked as "late" by Canvas, so if I had a built-in penalty for late work I suspect it would be triggered).

Now I'm worried that this could have happened to some students last fall without me even noticing. And I think I need to go through every single quiz I've given this term to check on every single zero: it's a tedious process. Just to be explicit about this, it has hit three of my students on at least two different assignments in the past week, and I haven't even started looking back at earlier work yet.