New student

Jump to solution
SaadiaMartin
Community Member

hey guys , I'm a new student kind of nervous,  do you have any tips ? Especially about studying  lol

0 Likes
2 Solutions
Chris_Hofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi @SaadiaMartin ...

Welcome to the Canvas Community.  If you have questions about how to use the available features of Canvas, I would recommend that you start by watching some of the Student tutorial videos found on this page: Video Guide - Canvas Community.  Maybe start with the Canvas Overview (Students) - Canvas Community video, and then you can watch some of the others afterwards.  Also, if you ever want to take a deeper dive into how Canvas works, there are a bunch of written Guides available at: Student Guide - Canvas Community.

As far as studying goes...you may want to contact your instructor about that...as he/she may have some recommendations for you about how much time you'd need to spend outside of class studying.  Here is a Guide that tells you how you can contact your instructor: How do I get help with Canvas as an instructor? - Canvas Community.

I hope this will help a bit.  Sing out if you have any other questions...thanks!

View solution in original post

kmeeusen
Community Champion

Hi @SaadiaMartin 

First, I commend you for reaching out to learn more! Great job!

My friend @Chris_Hofer has given you some great information, and I am going to share some general tips for succeeding as an online student!

• Read Everything!: read everything your teacher posts in your online classroom - they put it there for a reason, and that reason is you! In a traditional classroom, if you forgot something, don't know something, missed something, etc., then you can simply raise your hand and ask your teacher. That is trickier in an online course (it can still be done), and that leads me to my next tip.
  • Check Into Your Class Daily: things change, and your teacher will change this. You need to stay on top of those changes.