Highlighted
Community Member

Organizing Pages

I am new to Canvas and building my first course, but it seems to me that it would be useful to be able to organize Pages in Groups (as with Assignments) or Folders (as with Files). Again, it's my first time designing a course in Canvas, but it seems to me that the platform invites significant use of Pages (e.g., my syllabus offloads much of the content to other pages using clickable links in the main syllabus, and I am trying to move a good deal of supplemental reading material to pages, instead of downloadable PDF documents). If so, I can already see content management issues with a lot of Pages (nicely alphabetized, but not well organized). If I am missing an obvious solution, help would be appreciated. If not, it seems to me that the Pages function could use an organizational feature. For what it's worth, I am not currently planning to display the Pages link on the left hand menu, so my issue is not with the student interface. It's purely one of course design and maintenance. 

15 Replies
Highlighted
Community Member

Hi jgraves@tourolaw.edu‌, and welcome to Canvas Community! One of the great things about this place is you can indeed ask a question like "is there an obvious solution..." (or even an un-obvious one) and find out from people with tons of experience. I happen to know the answer to this question which is, alas, no: you cannot put Pages in folders. Very extended discussion here because this is a serious problem, and many people are hoping that Canvas will do something about this. 

https://community.canvaslms.com/ideas/7532-allow-folders-in-pages 

Lots of up-votes but, as far as I know, it's not a feature coming anytime soon; someone else in the know can correct me if I am wrong about that.