cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Organizing discussions

My course has multiple modules and each module will have at least one, if not more, discussion prompts. What's the best way to keep track of the discussions: create a separate discussion group for each prompt, or put all the discussion groups, with their respective prompts, on the same discussion "page"? (If that's even possible.)

Thanks.

12 Replies
Highlighted
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello howardmichaeldavis@gmail.com...

Full disclosure...I am an administrator for our school's Canvas environment, and I do not teach courses at our Technical College.  However, I have built many courses for our faculty, and I've built many discussion topics in courses.  My recommendation (and this is only my opinion) is to create a separate topic for each discussion prompt in your course.  This may mean that you have multiple discussion topics per module.  If you include all discussion prompts in one discussion topic, then it might be more difficult for you to keep those conversations organized.  And, if you make a single topic with multiple discussion prompts graded, how do you know which discussion prompt is the graded one?  Another reason I suggest separating out your discussions into their own topics is related to your own and your students' own personal Notification preference settings.

You can set up your notifications so that you are notified about new replies to topics you are subscribed to.  So, if you have all your prompts in one topic, students may get notified about many new postings in a single topic that they really don't want to get compared to them choosing which topics they want to subscribe to.

Other people may have different thoughts on this (so there might not be one "correct" answer), so I am going to switch your question over to a "Discussion".

I hope this information will be of help to you, Howard.

Highlighted

Thanks. That's helpful.