cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
wendy_lin
Community Member

Question about Rest API call, List Users in Accounts

I am new to Canvas development and I was hoping for some help with Rest API call. I was trying to get a list of the existing users from Canvas and the close API call I can find is the following. Any advice, suggestions will be most welcomed.

GET /api/v1/accounts/:account_id/users

I try to understand what is account ID? How can I find the account id?

In addition, when I make a Rest call, https://canvas.instructure.com/api/v1/accounts/self/users and specify the token in the header, got the error below,

{
"status": "unauthorized",
"errors": [
{
"message": "user not authorized to perform that action"
}
]
}

4 Replies
James
Navigator

@wendy_lin ‌,

Make sure that you're using your instance rather than canvas.instructure.com. You're not authorized on canvas.instructure.com, which is why it didn't work.

You can also test out API calls that use GET by logging into Canvas and then changing the URL to match the API call. It will most likely include a while(1){}; at the beginning, but everything after that will be the output you would get.

You can get the account ID by going to the Admin button in Canvas and then mousing over the name of your site. It will be in the URL at the end. You can use self though and it will figure it out based on the Canvas instance you're using.

wendy_lin
Community Member

Thanks James for the reply. It is very helpful. I made changes to the URL and it starts returning a list of the users. However, it doesn't return all the users in our instance. There are at least 100 accounts in our instance, but the service call returns only 9 users. I try to understand why it doesn't return all the users. Here is the URL,

https://XXX.instructure.com/api/v1/accounts/1/users