cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
wilcoxk
Community Member

Recommendations for Canvas Roll Out in Grades 5 and 6

Hello,

Our Intermediate School (Grades 5-6) will be rolling out Canvas for the 2018-2019 school year. Grades 7-12 have already had Canvas for a few years.

1. What are you general tips and suggestions for a new Canvas deployment?

2. What expectations would you have for teachers regarding their use of Canvas in the first year?
3. What expectations would you have for students?

4. What suggestions do you have for training teachers on how to use Canvas?

5. We are also a G Suite for Education school. Would you expect teachers to integrate G Suite and Canvas?

6 Replies
bbennett2
Navigator II

I'm a coach in the same situation, but one year ahead of you. Brace yourself:

1. Make sure the purpose is exceedingly clear. It's more difficult at the younger grades because it's so text-heavy. We don't introduce Canvas until 6th grade in our district, mostly to prep them for more heavy use in 7th grade and beyond. We relied on building principals to help communicate the message which made it more successful.
  2. Our first year expectations were pretty light. We tried to get a core group up and running to work out any bugs early. Next year (year 2.5) we're expecting all teachers to be posting Assignments and grading in Canvas at a minimum. Those are low barriers for entry and teach some of the transferrable skills across all tools in the LMS. We also put a hard-stop on people using other platforms like Google Classroom or personal website so we could establish consistency for our students (no more wondering who has what, where). Each teacher is free to design their class to their own liking - we are not dictating the use of Pages over Modules, for example.
  3. We expected students to check regularly, if not every day. Communication is critical and having everything in one place is important for their own learning.