cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Community Member

Share RTE between students and instructor?

I would like to have students working in a module repitive getting back to the same RTE.  Letting the students collect thaughts and ideas to use later in the module.

I also would the students to able to contuine writing next lesson. And as an instructor I would like to able to read what they produce during the lesson. 

In the best of worlds all these take place in Canvas without the use of for example Word. Is this possible?

4 Replies
Highlighted
Surveyor

linus.osterholm@realgymnasiet.se, greetings! I'm sorry that your question has sat here for so long without a response. Were you ever able to figure out a way to do this? If not, then I'd be happy to help, but could you explain more about what RTE stands for? I think that might help as I try to come up with suggestions.

Thanks! Kona

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Lamplighter

I would guess that RTE stood for Rich Text Editor. I think Linus is asking about a way to have the contents entered with the Rich Content Editor be persistent, perhaps to have an on-going assignment. Similar to what a journal would be where you can write something this week and come back next week and add to what you already have rather than starting over with a blank editor. Canvas is not setup that way, assignments are meant to be turned in and have a single grade associated with them, not persist across several weeks or lessons.

Using Word or Google Docs is probably the best solution here. I am unfamiliar with how Office 365 shares, but this probably should not be a Cloud Assignment, since those are associated with a single grade. I have used Google Docs, though, and see potential here.

Students could turn in the same document multiple times through a File Upload submission type. This would work whether it's Word or Google Docs.