cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
david_gilde
Community Member

Sorting students in SpeedGrader by section

I'm a middle school teacher who has been using Canvas regularly and beginning my third year with it.  Last year I was able to sort my student submissions in SpeedGrader by section which was very handy.

However, this year when I attempt to show only student submissions from a particular section, the page reloads but it still shows every submission from all classes.  See below.  Thanks in advance for your help.291349_Screen Shot 2018-09-19 at 11.10.10 AM.png

Tags (1)
7 Replies
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @david_gilde .  This is interesting.  I tried in a sandbox course that I have with a couple of sections and it appears that when I use the menu you pictured above, it does filter the submissions by my class sections.  What web browser are you using?  I just tested on Chrome so am wondering if you try with Chrome as well if your results will be any different.  It might be worth checking as sometimes the browser seems to make a difference!

Hi Eric.  Thanks for the quick get-back.  I've tried both Chrome and Firefox on my MacBook Pro OS X 10.12.6.  I agree that it's strange and, like I said, it worked like a charm during the last school year. 

Recommendations on where I should go from here?

Hi  @david_gilde .  I would probably submit a ticket with Canvas Support so they can look into the issue further.  They may have received other reports of this, so could tell you if it is a known issue being worked on.  I'm on a PC so I guess it is possible that it is an OS issue.  It will also be interesting to see if anyone else responds in this thread, either experiencing a similar issue or with thoughts on how it might be resolved.

I'll keep a lookout for other reports and let you know if I find anything.  If you do get a response from Support, please let us know!

Thanks, Eric.  I'll submit a ticket.

klundstrum