cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
daschaich
Surveyor II

Strangely inflating file sizes for Canvas Studio recordings

When I record roughly 10-minute videos in Canvas Studio and download them as soon as they are processed, each one is roughly 40--50MB in size.  If I forget to do this immediately and come back to it later (specifically once the captions are generated), the same video somehow always inflates to a much larger file size, typically ~200--300MB.  This not only wastes large amounts of storage space and bandwidth, but more significantly may be an obstacle for students with limited connectivity.

Is this a known problem?  Is there any way to prevent or correct it?

In case it may be relevant, I am using Canvas Studio in Chrome 85.0.4183.83 on Slackware Linux, so the only video recording option it gives me is Webcam capture.  I am an instructor recording asynchronous material for a university course.

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
chofer
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello there, @daschaich ...