cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Community Member

Student e-mail addresses

Jump to solution

Hello! I am an instructor at the University of Florida, and I am creating a course which I have not yet published.  As far as I can tell, while I can see the students in my roster, I cannot e-mail them individually, nor can I see their school e-mail addresses; I am writing more concerning the latter.  Is there a way to view the students' e-mail addresses (the non-canvas ones-i.e. the "@ufl" emails in my case) prior to, or indeed following, publishing the course?

Thank you!
Arjun

2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Each school sets up their Canvas environment a bit differently. For example our faculty can’t see student email addresses from within Canvas. If they need the email address it is available in our Student Information System (ex: Banner, Jenzabar, etc). Otherwise, Instructors can message individual students either from the Inbox (no email address required) or by clicking on the name of the student from People and in the context card that comes up click on the message icon. Either way the message will be sent to the student in Canvas and forwarded out to their default email address, which will likely be their school email. We actually prefer and recommend that faculty communicate with students this way so it’s in Canvas and their school email. 

View solution in original post

kona@richland.edu‌ thank you for your response!  So, just to give you an idea, here is what I have on my CANVAS (I blanked out the students' names and IDs)

263104_pastedImage_1.png