Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
hbickel1
Community Member

Survey results keep indicating 'correct answers are hidden'

Jump to solution

Good morning,

I'm an admin testing various quiz options and I've run across an issue I can't seem to fix. I'm creating a Likert Scale, following the tutorial here: How do I create Likert scale quiz questions? 

It uses a multiple drop-down answer format, and whether its a graded or ungraded survey, you are not given the option to indicate a "correct answer" (which is correct, that's how its supposed to work). However, in my "student" results, I get a message saying the "Correct answers are hidden". If I go into quiz details and check the box "Let Students See the Correct Answers", the results come back and indicate that the "correct answer" is defaulted to the first answer. In this case, the default would be "Strongly Agree". A survey does not allow you to select any Possible Answer as the correct one. The arrows are grayed out, all are listed as Possible answers, not Correct Answers.

I shouldn't be getting any message about "correct answers hidden" on a survey. I've played around with a lot of settings at this point, but I still end up seeing "Correct answers are hidden". I don't want students to fill out a survey and then be told that they somehow missed the "correct" answer. Anyone have a solution for this?

I've attached some screenshots.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @hbickel1 and welcome to the Community!  I see that you also posted this question on the document page, How do I create Likert scale quiz questions?.  It looks like someone from the docs team replied.  I would agree that this would be something good to notify Canvas Support about so they can look into what it would take to remove this notification from a survey.

All the best!

View solution in original post

10 Replies
ericwerth
Community Coach
Community Coach