cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Surveyor

Syllabus - Course Summary Dates

Jump to solution

OK, very weird situation here.      One of our instructors is seeing due dates for all course assignments, etc. in the Course Summary in the Syllabus area exactly 1 day prior to the actual due date in the course.     The time zone is set to Central Time, which is the same time zone as the course is set to... which is the same time zone that our entire instance is set to.

Any ideas?    The instructor has tried different computers and browsers and is getting same issue.

Tags (2)
23 Replies
Surveyor

I had the same problem with one of my classes. Had to move things manually on the calendar.

Now a colleague is having the same issue.

Community Member

I had the exact same issue! I am an instructor living in the Eastern time zone, teaching in the Pacific time zone.

The Canvas course time is set to Pacific. However, my computer (Mac) time was set to Eastern time, as it always has been.

As I was checking the Syllabus, I noted that the due date time was three hours different than I had originally provided, matching my Eastern time versus Pacific.

I contacted Canvas with no resolve. I also cleared my history/cache on Safari and Chrome. 

To handle the situation quickly for myself and my students, I have updated my Mac time zone so that it is now Pacific time. This update is the only quick fix that has allowed the correct timing to sync.

I noticed that the timing issues were specific to the Syllabus and Adjust All features. The course Calendar and assignment settings within Modules had dates that remained the same as far as I can tell, regardless of the time zone set on my computer.

I have been teaching in Canvas for over a year and this has not happened previously.

I am fascinated to know what resolutions are discovered about this issue. 

Community Member