cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
martha_hiestand
Community Member

Teacher of some courses AND parent observer of their own child?

Jump to solution

I am a teacher, have a Canvas account and use it for the courses I teach. My son's elementary school teacher is starting to use Canvas in her classroom(in the same district/domain). My question is do I need a new account to be able to pair with my child and view his courses? Or can I somehow pair my existing teacher account? 

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

For everyone participating in this discussion, our Customer Success team has provided the teacher-parent/observer solution to the local Canvas admins for your schools. Please direct future requests for assistance to the Canvas admin or eLearning department in your organization, who can in turn work with their customer success management team.

We've locked comments on this thread as this is now the accepted solution.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
36 Replies
klundstrum
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi  @martha_hiestand  - 

There are a few colleagues who also have children in the building. They actually prefer to have two separate accounts (one for teaching, one for parenting!), for their roles in Canvas. They use their official school email for their teacher account, and they use a personal email for their observer account. The most common feedback is that they can separate work life from home life a lot easier. They can sign in to Canvas Teacher and Canvas Parent using the appropriate login credentials and set notifications in a way that works best for them and their family!

If you click Account then Settings, do you see an Observing tab? If yes, you can follow the directions in this guide: How do I link a student to my user account as an observer?