cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Surveyor II

Threaded Discussions advice

So, Canvas discussions are a train wreck. 

• There's no message list view. 
  • There no inbox.
  • There's no usable threading. I mean, there "sort of" is, in that you can reply to discussions in a threaded way, but you can't collapse or expand those threads.
  • The interface is nearly unusable. What is the "Mark as Read" button -- four pixels across? And frequently actually reading the message doesn't mark it as read, and sometimes it does.
  • There's no "subscribe to replies" metaphor -- or if there is, it appears that instructors can turn it off.
  • It appears that instructors also have the power to turn off the Discussions tab.

What a slog. Every time I go to a Canvas class as a student, I have to hunt through every module (which, for some reason, still shows the completed modules on the top -- very unhelpful) to find the discussion thread I need, then filter for Unread messages, then click on each reply and click again to view it in the context of the discussion, then review all the parent messages to the reply.

I'm new to Canvas, so I'm willing to accept that some of this might be my misunderstanding the interface. I really, really hope that's true. 

Please -- tell me what I'm doing wrong.

Labels (3)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted

Thanks, but these are not helpful. I am able to use the system as designed -- the system was just designed extremely poorly.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hello @grahamcharles ...

Sorry to hear that you are having some difficulties with discussion topics in Canvas.  Let's see if we can address some of your concerns.

1. Can you tell us more about "no message list view"?  What would this look like as it relates to discussion topics?
  2. Can you tell us more about an "inbox" as it relates to discussion topics?