cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
james_starr
Community Member

Using the Tab Key during Essay Question = Ends Test Time?

Hi,

I am receiving complaints from dual credit schools that when students are in an essay question on a Canvas test, they cannot use the tab key without the test automatically ending.

Surely, this is not the case...? It's nearly 2020, after all. 

BACKGROUND BEHIND MY PERSONAL ANGST WITH THIS ISSUE:

If this is a genuine problem, then it must be fixed. How is it that programmers have not caught on to something that has been standard formatting since before the age of the computer? Even typewriters had tab keys that were used for indentation. I am a college instructor now. Students are taught far before reaching my courses that they should use the tab key to indent paragraphs. Previously, I used to work for a technical writing consultant company that worked for major companies, including Microsoft. My consultant company fired people for being "inept" and "slow" with work when they did things like use the spacebar repeatedly when a single tap of the tab key would suffice.

3 Replies
Robbie_Grant
Community Coach
Community Coach

@james_starr 

Welcome to the Canvas Community!!!