Late/Unsubmitted assignment notification

Jump to solution
nspen
Community Member

I'm a student who just transitioned onto Canvas and I wish that late or missing assignments were pushed forward to your To-Do list like it was on Classroom so I knew if it was actually submitted or not. I also wish there was one compiled to-do list from all classes and not just the calendar, I fully understand that these are two different programs but as a student who doesn't want to fail Junior year please either add this feature or help me navigate these problems better.

🙂 

Labels (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution
James
Community Champion

@nspen 

I think you're misunderstanding the purpose of some things.

Assignment groups have to do with how the gradebook is setup. They are logical containers for different types of assignments. For example, you can have exams, quizzes, homework, projects, and labs. If you want to, then you can make them worth a certain percentage of the grade and then you have a weighted gradebook. These are added from the assignments page at the top where it says +Group.

However, that will not fix the issue I think that you're describing. Assignment groups are restricted to a single course within Canvas, so it won't let you assign to three individual courses at the same time.

If you want to assign the material to three classes at one time, you will need to combine the classes within Canvas. This is typically done with the cross-listing functionality, although we manage that on our end and put all of the students into one course and assign them to a section based on which course they are in. If you want to make the due dates and times the same for all three classes, then you don't need anything else than to get them all inside the same Canvas course.