Student Annotation in the Student Mobile App

The content in this blog is over six months old, and the comments are closed. For the most recent product updates and discussions, you're encouraged to explore newer posts from Instructure's Product Managers.

jozsefdavid
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Screenshot 2021-09-29 at 14.24.52.png

You may not realize there are differences between the “traditional” annotation type and the new “Student Annotation Submission” annotation types. Both of them are annotations, right? They both look the same, they both work similarly, so why would they be different? That is a very good question—let me dig a bit deeper. 

As a product manager, I don’t necessarily care how the things are implemented (shhh!—the engineering team should not hear that). I am, by definition, the voice and the representative of the customer. Let’s start from this: If I look at the annotation functionality in the Canvas mobile apps with the eye of a customer, what do I see? Well, the capability of drawing, freehand writing, and other annotation options. As a user, I don’t really care where I use annotations in the app—they are just the same for me. And that is how it should be. As a product manager, I want you to feel that way, no matter where you started to use the annotation feature.

Then what is the problem?

It really comes from technology. A solution—as big as Canvas—is always complex. No matter if we want to keep it simple, the tremendous amount of config options, switches, flags, and features will bring complexity. For sure. So that is why it happens that the same (similar) annotation functionality is different under the hood. Different implementations serve different purposes, and no, this is not a design/coding mistake. It is implemented intentionally this way because this serves the actual feature’s purpose the best. 

Let’s see the differences