Recently I had a professor, who had been assigned to a Canvas course, where another professor had been previously assigned and had entered their course content & syllabus, ask that I remove all the existing content. I used the "Reset Course Content" function and was unaware of what actually occurred. After the process completes, and probably why it completes so fast, I was no longer in the original Canvas site. The Course ID had changed (by at least one number), but the course still had the same title and the enrollments had been moved into this site. *I thought I was still in the same site, but with all the previous content removed.
If you had the original course URL hard coded somewhere, that would no longer work.