PHP / GuzzleHttp Post - new user creation

Jump to solution
ellington
Community Explorer

Hello,

I'm new to Canvas and attempting to create a new user through the Canvas API. I'm using PHP & GuzzleHttp to form the requests and getting the following error:

Client error: `POST https://mydomain.instructure.com/api/v1/accounts/1/users/?access_token=my_token` resulted in a `400 Bad Request` response: {"errors":{"user":{"pseudonyms":[{"attribute":"pseudonyms","type":"invalid","message":"invalid"}]},"pseudonym":{"unique_ (truncated...)

I'm setting the URL:

$url = "https://mydomain.instructure.com/api/v1/accounts/1/users/?$access_token";

I'm setting the Content-Type in the header of the Request:

headers = [
                'Content-Type' => 'application/json; charset=utf-8',
                'Accept' => 'application/json',
                ];

I'm using the below data in the body of the Post Request:

{"user":{"name":"Mary Alvarez Nutting","sortable_name":"Alvarez Nutting Mary"},"pseudonym":{"unique_id":"Mary_AlvarezNutting","sis_user_id":"1033587"}

and finally here is the Guzzle command i'm using:

$response = $client->post($url, $headers, $parm)->send();

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated!!

If any does look at this, Please let me know if I can provide anymore information that would help you help me!!!

Thank you,

Jeremiah

1 Solution
James
Community Champion

@ellington ,

I'm not sure if you just didn't copy it or it's actually missing in the request, but you're missing the trailing } in the data. This is what it came out as when I tried to format the JSON.

{
  "user": {
    "name": "Mary Alvarez Nutting",
    "sortable_name": "Alvarez Nutting Mary"
  },
  "pseudonym": {
    "unique_id": "Mary_AlvarezNutting",
    "sis_user_id": "1033587"
  }

I didn't try this with Guzzle, but when I added the } to the end, I was able to create a new user using a different REST client. It came back with a 200 OK.