I'm trying to work out the impacts of concluding users instead of courses. The scenario is an open enrollment course that we expect people will finish in a few weeks (and that some will bridge between regular terms), so term dates and a whole-course-conclude don't work well.
What I think happens, based on the Conclude an enrollment guide and a few posts here, is:
- The concluded student can view the course read-only. No submit, participate, or email.
- Analytics on that student are still available.
- The student can still be found by the instructor (At People/right menu/“View Prior Enrollments")
- Grades are visible to both instructor and student, but can’t be changed (Gear menu/Gradebook settings, Show concluded enrollments)
There are two questions that I haven't figured out yet:
- Does the student still receive notifications, announcements, or other messages from the course? (For instance, if the instructor sends an all-class email.)
- How does the course appear in the student's course list (if at all)?
And this may break the one-subject rule, but here goes... Is there a relatively easy way to have the course disappear from a single student's course list entirely? I can think of some section hackery, where we move the student from the "active" section to one where the end-of-term date is set for last year, but I'm hoping the hive mind has maybe cooked up something easier.