If and when I leave my institution, what will happen to the private content I uploaded to Commons?
Hello there, Mick Curran...
I have been reviewing older questions here in the Canvas Community, and I stumbled upon your question. I wanted to check in with you because I noticed that there hasn't been any new activity in this topic since March 21, 2019. I was also curious about your question, so I initiated a chat with Canvas Support this morning. Here is the response I received:
The content will just stay on your account unless you delete it manually or your account is deleted by the institution where it was created.
So, this means that if you were to leave your institution AND your Canvas account was deleted, then all content you had uploaded to Commons would also not be there any more. However, if you leave your institution AND your school does not delete your account, then the content you've uploaded to Commons would still be available.
Hope this helps, Mick.
Mick, that’s a good question and I honestly have no idea. My guess is that it stays there, but no one can access it, but that’s a guess. My recommendation is to contact Canvas Support and ask to see if they can give a definitive answer. To contact support click on the Help link in Canvas and Report a Problem.
Mick, that IS a great question! DId you learn anything from Canvas Support since you first asked about Commons in September? I'm curious to learn more!
I haven't! But mainly because I haven't asked :/
Retrieving data ...