Change Inside Course Colors

Jump to solution
jdm8d9
Community Novice

Hi, I'm a student and I'd like to be able to change the color background or border of my courses once I'm inside them. I'm taking four classes right now and have to look at the top of the course to make sure I'm in the correct one. I've changed the colors of my course cards on the dashboard but that's not very helpful once I'm inside the course. Is there some other way I can distinguish one course from another once I'm inside the course? Thanks!

1 Solution
James
Community Champion

@jdm8d9  

Chris is absolutely correct that there is nothing that you can do within the core Canvas product to do this. If you are using a browser to access Canvas, then there may be something you can do on your own. If you are using the mobile apps, then I do not know that you can do anything.

If I understand correctly, if blue was the color I had selected for my Math 113 course, then you want something like this:

335397_pastedImage_2.png

There is a way to do this, but it requires writing a script that runs in the browser.

The script would need to

1. Only run on pages that were inside a course.
  2. Use the get custom colors endpoint of the Users API to fetch the list of colors that should be used. This would allow you to automatically match it to the color on your dashboard and calendar. These come in the form of course_12345 and the color to use as an RGB code for the color. My Math 113 course has a course ID of 2687822 so I would need to find the course_2867822 key in the object and get that my color code is #0000FF (blue).
  3. Determine the ID of the course. Within a browser, this is available by looking at the document.location.pathname property. It contains the portion of the URL or location after the hostname. On any page within my Math 113 course, it begins with /courses/2687822. I just need to grab that number. I use this to match up to the custom colors code.