Anonymous Discussion Forums

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

Idea:

Instructors can create discussions that allow for posts to be made anonymously

Use Cases:

As an instructor, I want to create discussions in which participation is anonymous. This would free my students to share their thoughts without worrying about judgement / criticism by their peers or me. They'd take risks they might not otherwise.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Lynn McCarty
Thank you especially for contributions by: Rob Ditto, Allison Pyle, Renee Carney, Robert Jones

151 Comments
hiseki
Community Novice

Hi, Tricia, 

I looked for this app you suggested in ELMS, but did not find it.  So I wonder how I can incorporate it. Is it COMPLETELY an external tool to ELMS?

scunningham32
Community Novice

I teach public speaking and utilize discussions to do audience analysis for speeches.  When students want to give a speech on a personal topic, this becomes difficult.  For example good speech topics may include safe sex, but to do this you would want to know the sexual habits of the students in the class and I wouldn't want them to feel they have to reveal personal information publicly.  

gemma_sinclair
Community Participant

We currently use Piazza due to the lack of anonymous posting on Canvas discussions.

With the recent changes in Piazza requiring students to register it would be great to see anonymous posting as an option in Discussions. Where possible I would prefer to use out of the box functionality.

egilbert1
Community Novice

So this has a huge implication for Special Education Students so instructors can do online discussions while still keeping confidentiality as defined by FERPA. Please change this so I can have discussions with my students. 

mabrams
Community Explorer