[Courses] Automatic Captioning in Canvas recordings

Since accessibility is a major requirement. All video/audio recordings in Canvas should have automatic captioning.

Added to Theme

14 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

helpdesk, conferencing in Canvas is developed and provided by Big Blue Button's third-party tool; video/audio recording is a Canvas feature. Which one of these requests would you like to see move forward? Please edit the idea so that it requests one, and if you want to see both move forward, create a new feature idea for the second.

Thanks.

ChrisMedina
Community Participant

Edited

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni

Opened Smiley Happy

cohenf
Community Participant

If the present situation has taught us anything, then it's taught us the necessity of accommodation to those needing captioning in online videos.

ceastes1
Community Novice

HI!  I am fairly new to Canvas as an educator.  I have been an observer for several years, but due to Covid-19 and eLearning, I have had to give myself a crash course in developing my own page and helping my colleagues with making sure their instruction is accessible to the deaf and hard of hearing (DHH) students that I am teacher of record for.  This has not been easy to say the least.  Captioning should be a default feature that comes with every basic Canvas account.  We not only have DHH students and parents that need it, but we have individuals who English is not their first language, students with auditory memory issues and other learning difficulties.  How can the developers of Canvas help me understand how captioning works on here?  For the past 4-5 weeks I have done everything possible to learn how to do this.  I have consulted people much more "techy" than me and have contacted customer support.  I continuously get the tutorial that says that captioning is possible, but it is through a third party, Amara, and not efficient at all!  Our teachers do not have time