[Discussions] Bring back push notifications for discussion boards.

I'm not sure why push notifications for discussion boards were disabled, but please reenable them.  I'm a student and they were a great way to get notified when there was a new post, or response.

43 Comments
Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Open

soldiersmitty
Community Member

In the past, my students and I have received push notifications when someone in the class posts to a discussion we are on. This is crucial in keeping the discussion active. Can this option be reinstated? Without it, our discussions will fizzle out as soon as they start!

Thank you.

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Moderating

Stef_retired
Instructure Alumni
Instructure Alumni
Status changed to: Initial Stage: We're reviewing the new conversation

Jeff_S
Community Novice

Push Notifications were incredibly helpful in keeping up with new discussion posts and replies.  Especially since for some discussions, posts and replies come in waves and have short turn around requirements for the associated class.

niallCIT20
Community Explorer

Push notifications are very useful for discussion posts to ensure students stay engaged with course discussions. Please can these be reinstated and allow individuals to make the choice on opting out if they wish.

carlo_ottaviani
Community Novice

Push notifications were definitely the most appealing feature of the mobile App and of Canvas in general. It is crucial for a clean and quick interaction with students.
Please bring it back.

screviston
Community Member