[Assignments] Submit an assignment on behalf of a student

This idea has been developed and deployed to Canvas

As an instructor, I'd like the option to submit assignments on behalf of my students. This feature should enable me to pick a file from my computer and upload it as a submission for a given student. I should then be able to assess the submission just as if the student had submitted it themselves. A note should appear somewhere that indicates I submitted the assignment on behalf of my student. This would help me in cases where, for instance, my students submit an assignment on paper or the submission is a performance (a speech or presentation) that I capture on video.

transferred from the old Community

Originally posted by: Bill Hanna
Special thanks for contributions by: Paul Gibbons, Sydney Cheek-O'Donnell, Kona Jones, Stefanie Sanders

Added to Theme

369 Comments
hunterb
Community Member

when I see obvious features like this that haven't been incorporated since the discussion started in 2015, I do wonder what the point of my post is.

cdona
Community Explorer

Do these messages just go into the ether?  Or will someone from Canvas eventually respond after 6 years?

thomas_walker1
Community Explorer

I would also like to see this as we've been running into issues during our COVID closure that requires us to accept assignments in alternative ways to work around student technology issues, but I am still uncomfortable assigning a grade for something that I cannot connect the documentation to.

twalther
Community Participant

I have the same problem that others have mentioned with students who are not proficient with the technology or using the app not being able to "figure out" how to submit something. I keep teaching them how to submit, but sometimes I would rather just be able to submit the document they emailed to me for them.

Choachy
Community Explorer