Hidden Gems: Exporting & Importing Content in New Quizzes

Kelvin_Dean
Community Contributor

When I studied the comparison table between Old vs New Quizzes, I thought to myself: If quizzes can be exported, why not individual assignments? They should. Here is a viable solution to export/import a New Quiz.

For this blog post, call the old course Course A and the new course Course B.

Procedure

1. In Course A, create a new quiz in Canvas using the +Assignment or +Quiz/Test buttons.
  2. Once you arrive at the New Quizzes Build page, write a custom message in the instructions to let yourself know that the import operation worked.
  3. Unlike Old Quizzes, if you are going to export even a single assignment or page, you must export the entire course. To do so, follow the instructions in this article (How do I export a Canvas course?).
  4. Once the export is complete, download the file (it expires 30 days after the export has completed) and save it to somewhere you remember.
  5. Go to Course B, and follow the instructions there to import your course content (How do I import a Canvas course export package?).
  6. Before you get too far, in the Content section, select the option Select specific content, because you're NOT going to import all of the data. Then click Import.
    Selected content only
  7. After a few minutes, the status will show Waiting for Selection. Now click Select Content to choose the data you want to import.
    Waiting for content.
  8. For this example, since our title is Migrating New Quizzes, we check this option only. Leave all other items unchecked. Click Select Content to continue.
    (Keep in mind, assignment groups will have a folder icon next to it.)
    Select Content
  9. Wait for the import to finish and return a green Completed status. If it is red or orange, read the issues and try again.
    Completed!