How do I move courses out of a root account into another root account?

Jump to solution
cxlim
Community Explorer

So our canvas instance has a few accounts. However I am only an admin of each account, and not a global admin.

I was asked to move courses from: example.instructure.com/accounts/2

into: example.instructure.com/accounts/3

So I can let each account admin manage their own account and its subaccounts. Is this possible? Thanks!

0 Likes
2 Solutions
chriscas
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi @cxlim,

That's definitely something you should be able to do, with some caveats.  Mainly, it's important to know if the courses are being created (and/or updated) by an SIS integration.  If the answer to that is yes, that integration may undo everything you do when it runs.

Assuming your SIS doesn't override things, you could do this by going into the settings area of each course and changing the account the course lives in.  If you have a fairly small number of courses, that's probably what I would do.  Otherwise, you could do this in bulk by either using the Canvas API or having your root admin do SIS CSV uploads (since you're not the root admin, this will not be available to your directly).

Hope this helps a bit!

-Chris

View solution in original post

Hi @cxlim,