Manually changing course term dates

Jump to solution
katie_rhodes
Community Explorer

As a K-12 teacher, I regularly cut off assignments about 1 week prior to the end of a quarter to give me time to grade work, re-grade late submissions, and account for student absences causing them to miss a due date.  This means that there is overlap between the due dates for assignments AFTER my cut off, but BEFORE the quarter is over that I don't want applied to a student's grade until the next quarter.  Currently the only way I around this issue that I have found is to fudge the due dates for the overlapping assignments to have Canvas apply them to the next quarter.  This is not ideal as it gives students the impression that they have much longer to complete the assignments than they really do.  Is there a way to manually change the date that Canvas recognizes as the end of a grading period so that both the assignment due dates AND grading periods in which they are reported/applied are accurate?  Or, is there a way to assign assignments to a specific grading period?

0 Likes
1 Solution
greydon
Instructure
Instructure

Hello @katie_rhodes