How to Export a Course for Class Assignment

Jump to solution
ChristineBodzia
Community Member

I am a student working on a class assignment to create a course using e-Learning technologies. I selected Canvas as my university is moving to Canvas. I don't have access to an institutional account yet, so I created the free account. 

I created and published a small course to confirm I could understand how to export the course. I published the course and could not figure out how do export it so that I can upload the course to our current LMS and have my professor "enroll in the course" or engage in the course materials as a user.

I reached out to my professor and he provided a link a Canvas community post about exporting the course. In following the directions that was link to the post, I went into settings, then clicked on the download course content button. However, from there, the view that i have on my screen is different from the directions. And the course is not listed even though I published it. 

I've done numerous searches on the boards, and I have found lots of advice about many topics, but i cannot seem to locate the information I need. 

So, my question is -- how do I export the course? if I export the course, will my professor be able to use these files as a student and get the full course experience so he can evaluate the design and effectivenss of the content? 

Thanks in advance! I'm attaching what I see when after I click on "download course content" there isn't any prompt for me to do anything else when i get that far, so I'm at a dead end. 

Christine 

1 Solution
NoahBoswell1
Community Coach
Community Coach

Hi, @ChristineBodzia ,

Since you are having lots of trouble with the usual ways, I have a couple more ideas for you:

1. Have your professor create a free account, and invite him to the course as a student under the email associated with his free account.